Presentation Mode

‘Tis the season…  for professional conferences.

Maybe I’m just nostalgic for our recent holidays (and the time off).

Conferences are in full swing and I have two presentations lined up on ed tech. And while I am just fine with the content, I am wondering what tool to use to present.  I definitely will stay away from PowerPoint, what ever I finally choose it must be cloud based. Ditto for Google Docs – their PP imitator is just plain ugly – and there are far better, more robust choices.

But I don’t want to use Prezi – again. I am starting to feel Prezi is becoming as dated as PP. And in this Web 2.0 world, things become outdated very quickly. Prezi is a huge step above PP, and if you’re just beginning to enter this world, then Prezi is great. However, I am finding that the software is in need of some updates – why can’t I simply embed videos or links? It’s awkward to leave the presentation to view something outside of it. I also feel too constricted with their templates. I want to use them, but then adding slides looks out of place. And how does it save me time to format an entire presentation myself? 

I used Emaze recently, which has its pluses over Prezi, but it largely seems to be a Prezi poseur. 

I’m mostly looking for the world – a dynamic cloud based presentation program that is dynamic and visually engaging but also easy to use (and free!). 

In this highly competitive market, I hope something will fill the void.

In the meantime, DO NOT use PP again or Comic Sans – the world has suffered enough.

Leave a comment